Bouncing Back

The last two weeks have been tough going as far as training is concerned. Quite a while ago I wrote some guideline about choosing key races, taking into account major life events like weddings, graduations, etc. With all the preparation and activities associated with such big deals, the added stress of a race doesn’t lend itself to success in either arena. While I didn’t have a race scheduled for last week, i did have a fairly heavy training schedule. My youngest daughter graduated from college this past weekend, so I had tried to scale back, or at least rearrange, my training schedule to accommodate the big event, plus the mini family reunion we were planning before and after. I hadn’t factored in an unplanned multiple stop trip around North America and a massive sinus infection that also killed my voice and moved into my chest. As a result of the infection and complications, I lost every workout last week except my Sunday long run and the first swim.

After the graduation, we had the great fortune to spend a few days with the extended family at a lake house. Besides the wonderful time reconnecting and sharing favorite memories of the graduate, I’ve also been able to work in a few runs early in the morning as the infection subsides. Both runs were about 7 miles, and included a lot of hills. This area is at the base of the Ozark Mountains, so every route is one hill after another. I thought running at home was hilly! The runs have been challenging, but very good.

The real missed opportunity this weekend was for an open water swim. The house we are renting is on the lake, with a boat dock in the back yard. The weather was looking a little iffy when I packed for the weekend, so I left my jammers and goggles at home. While Saturday was off and on rain, every day after that has been beautiful. I debated going into town to buy some cheap goggles, but I admit to being a bit concerned about swimming in a lake with so much boat traffic. I didn’t want my first open water swim to be my last, so I passed up the chance.

We head home tomorrow, and then I’m back on the road for business the next day. Hopefully I can get the workout schedule (and the diet) back under control. It’s hard to believe there are only three more months before my planned triathlon. No time to slack off now.

This entry was posted in Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bouncing Back

  1. elisariva says:

    Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation! Glad you are feeling better. The open water swim opportunities will come.

    • Chasing Fifty says:

      Thanks. I’m headed to Florida for a few days, and may get to join up with an open water training group one evening.

Leave a comment