Not Exactly As Planned

When I bought my indoor trainer in Florida about a month ago, I expected that my swimming days were over for at least a few months.  Since my trip home to Little Rock for Christmas over the past two weeks, it hasn’t turned out that way.  I’ve spent a lot more time in the pool than on the bike, but not as much of either as I would prefer.

Everything started out according to plan.  I was able to get one long ride in the first weekend I was home, but the combination of cold, dark, and schedule demands convinced me to shift my plans.  Instead of riding, I was able to work in some early morning swims that first week.  It felt good to get back in the water, although I realized how quickly the swimming muscle fitness fades.  While I wouldn’t say I was sore as in “ouch, that hurts”, I definitely felt some muscle groups I hadn’t felt for a few weeks.

Last week was Christmas, and the weather again wreaked havoc.  We were hit with a combination of ice and snow on Christmas Day, which killed any real chance of training outside.  I was able to get in a few treadmill runs, but the icy conditions stuck around until almost New Years.  It took three days before we could get out of our neighborhood, so riding was not an option.  That killed swimming, too, since I couldn’t get to the pool.

This week showed some improvement, though, as the roads finally cleared.  I made it to the pool on New Year’s Day, and again this morning.  Runs on Sunday and New Years rounded out the schedule so far.  Again, I’m feeling the physical affects of getting back in the pool, and it’s a good kind of sore.

Even though I’ve let my Florida Y membership lapse, I’ve found a couple of public pools in Tampa that have lap swimming hours into the early evening.  I’m going to try to rearrange my schedule once I get back to keep a couple of pool workouts a week during the winter.  I’ve built a “maintenance” training plan on Beginner Triathlete to get me through the end of February, so we’ll see how that goes.  MBA classes start up as soon as I get back.

So, as seems to be the usual case for my training recently, it hasn’t gone exactly as planned.  But it’s going, and that’s the really important part.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Exactly As Planned

  1. IowaTriBob says:

    Very true words… If its not as moving forward as planned, just make sure its still moving forward.

  2. elisariva says:

    So true! Just like most things in life…

Leave a Reply

