Up and At ‘em

I was actually able to drag my carcass out of bed at the planned 5:30 a.m. for a run before work.  The die hard triathletes out there are rolling their eyes.  For most triathletes, 5:30 is sleeping in.  Lately, thought, it’s been a real struggle for me to get my workouts in before going to the office.  I’ve still done the vast majority of them, but sometimes at lunch and other times in the evening.  I’m hoping that this morning marked the beginning of a return to “normal”.

The morning run was an easy recovery workout after the weekend 30 mile ride and 11 mile run.  It was almost as humid this morning as for yesterday’s long run, but it was still dark so I can’t tell you if the fog was as thick.  The temperature was a bit cooler, though, and it felt GREAT.  I’ve got a fairly standard set of loops that I run around the complex and through a nearby neighborhood, adding loop repeats depending on the planned distance.  I change the order to mix up the scenery a bit.  It’s not as boring as running laps on a track, since each loop is a little over a mile long.  Still some variety is nice.  I’m amazed at how many people I see out and about that early, especially the kids.  While it is true that I had to walk 5 miles to school, uphill both ways, I don’t remember having to do it at 6:00 in the morning.  Maybe that’s before there was a 6:00 in the morning.

I finished off the evening with a strength workout at the apartment.  I definitely let my strength training slip when my schedule got so demanding, but I’m trying to kick start it now that I’ve set swimming aside as a major activity for a while.  With all the running and cycling I do, you wouldn’t think that squats and lunges would be that much of a challenge.  You would be wrong.  It doesn’t take long to lose whatever it is you build up when you do them regularly.  I only hope it comes back quickly.

Tomorrow will be the real test of willpower, as my schedule calls for a 1 hour indoor ride before work.  I’d be tempted to do it outside if not for the heavy rains we had tonight, and the forecast for obscuring darkness that early in the morning.  So, on the trainer it is.  I can’t wait until spring.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up and At ‘em

  1. IowaTriBob says:

    Great post and I agree with so many items. For some reason mornings have gotten a lot tougher for me now that the sun doesn’t want to come up until well after I’m done. I’ve also let the strength training lapse a little and after a plyometric workout with some squats I was definitely feeling it pretty bad. Spring can’t come soon enough.

  2. Dabel says:

    Great job getting out there. SUCH a struggle everyday. And with that, I’m off to bed so I have at least a chance of sneaking in some cardio in the am.

Leave a Reply

