Morning Swim

Well, not really, but it felt like it. Today’s workout was an 11 mile run through the neighborhoods near my apartment. Near is a relative term, I suppose, since I wound up 6 miles from the house at one point, but you know what I mean. I prefer long runs like that, where I move from one neighborhood to another, versus the six miles out and six miles back on the same bike or jogging path. The scenery changes seem to make the run go faster, and the twists and turns onto different streets require me to keep my mind engaged at least at some level. It can be a little disappointing to finish a long run and realize my brain has been completely disengaged. Sometimes I need to “check out”, but there are days when I need the mental stimulation of calculating distances to the next turn, distance back tot the house, etc.

So where does the swim part come in? The temperature was a perfect 60 degrees, but the humidity was 94 percent. Yes, 94 percent. I don’t care who you are, that’s humid. There was a fairly thick fog, almost a mist. I wasn’t even running that hard and I had water dripping off my head by the end of the first mile. I think I was passed by a fish. Seriously. Yesterday was alligator day, today was fish.

It was a great run though, fog, humidity, and all. I left out the half mile repeats I’ve been doing on my long runs because I was doing my second long run Sunday in a row. I’m traveling back to Little Rock next weekend, so there’s no way I could do a really long run then. In fact, today should have been a 13 or 14 mile run, but I needed to squeeze the workout in before church. I tried that last week, but my slow pace spoiled that plan. I’ve been feeling a little like I’m forcing 10 pounds of stuff into a 5 pound sack lately, and need to get some balance back. So, for the first time in a while, I cut the workout short and made it to church.

A good run, some focus on what’s really important, and the end of the MBA semester and a trip back home in sight; not a bad way to start the week. My goal for this week is to start my speed work again after a couple of weeks off and get my half marathon training back on the rails. At a minimum, I want to enjoy this week’s training. I hope you do, too.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning Swim

  1. IowaTriBob says:

    I love the analogy of forcing 10 pounds of stuff into a 5 pound sack. Up until this week I couldn’t have agreed more and its amazing how we sometimes rationalize how it will work. Congrats for being able to say enough as its easier said than done.

Leave a Reply

